Skip to content

Writing Meme Day Four & Five

April 5, 2010

April 4th – Tell us about one of your first stories/characters!

How about I tell about my very first original story and characters? My true first stories and characters were fanfiction, and while I made the characters my own, and the stories most certainly were mine, I don’t… I don’t really count them in my writing career.

My first story was a novelette called Morningstar. It starred Lucifer and his lover Radueriel, another angel among God’s host. I self-published the manuscript (and broke even on the investment), and it received some very nice reviews. However, I became tired of Lulu.com and Amazon taking most of the money from it and decided to retire the piece. At the moment, it’s set aside for a rewrite.

As it is, it’s just a love story. Both a love story between Morningstar and God, and between Morningstar and Radueriel. No, there’s no God sex, but Morningstar’s love for God walks the thin line of lover and devotee. He was God’s first, he was God’s greatest, he was loved above all others until the birth of Christ. The story’s primary romance, though, is between Morningstar and Radueriel, both before Morningstar’s expulsion from Heaven and after, when they both meet on Earth.

It was my first original piece, written mainly for a lover at the time who adored my writing. I wrote it from beginning to end in a week. It’s been edited by two people, and I still think it needs an overhaul and many revisions before it’ll see the light of day again. But, it was my first and I’m still insanely proud of it and the characters I created in it.

April 5th – By age, who is your youngest character? Oldest? How about “youngest” and “oldest” in terms of when you created them?

My oldest character in terms of age would be Keegan from the Egaea books. He’s something like 7,000 years old. My youngest would be Riley from the Other Side of Night, who is all of 20.

The first character I created, and thus my oldest, would be Morningstar, who is now five or six years old. My newest characters, and thus my youngest, would be Riley and Morpheus (from Oneiros), both who were created about the same time in February of this year.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

