Skip to content

Writing Meme Day Six

April 6, 2010

April 6th – Where are you most comfortable writing? At what time of day? Computer or good ol’ pen and paper?

Sitting on my sofa with my laptop on my little stand. 🙂 I spend a vast majority of my day as such, writing. I begin around 10am and, most days, don’t stop writing until 11pm. I do my best work in the morning, as my fatigue issues grow more pronounced as the day wears on.

I use my laptop. I don’t like writing longhand unless I have no other option. I like longhand for working out the basics of an outline, but even the outline is then translated into a computer document. Everything I do is on the computer now. It’s the ease I find of writing on it. I hold my pen/pencil oddly, so my hand tends to cramp quickly when writing with pad and writing utensil, so I don’t get nearly as much done as I do with a computer, as it takes 6+ hours before my carpal tunnel begins to flare.

I’ll say I tend to do my writing in OpenOffice now, though I used to use Microsoft Word exclusively. However, OpenOffice offers more freedom for me than Word does, and now I only use Word when forced to (like for editing). Kris and I do most of our joint writing in AIM, at which point I clean up the logs some and paste them into the OpenOffice document for the manuscript. We’ve finally perfected the joint writing thing, and we’re quite proud at the seamlessness of our writing now. 😀

No comments yet

Leave a comment

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts