Skip to content

Writing Meme Day Eight

April 8, 2010

April 8th – What’s your favorite genre to write? To read?

I’m a huge fan of fantasy, horror, and paranormal genres, either with or without romance. More often than not, I write romance that’s linked to one of those other genres, and I read a lot of romance, too. My reading library consists of M/M romances in e-books, a handful of straight romances, and a hell of a lot of horror, gothic horror, fantasy, and paranormal books (I’m a huge fan of such authors as Stephen King, Robin Cook, Dean Koontz, John Saul, V.C. Andrews, early L.J. Smith, and Anne Rice before she went crazy).

Despite the current backlash, I love vampires and shifters. I have since I was a young pre-teen and read Silver Kiss by Annette Curtis Klause. I’ve devoured the paranormal since, from vampires to witches to shifters to ghosts. They fascinate me, and though my fiction right now focuses on vampires, once those stories are told (I have four vampire tales in the works), I’m hoping to hop into writing witches.

I am a huge fan of romance mainly because I love watching relationships begin, grow, and reach their fulfillment. I’m primarily a character-driven writer/reader. When I read Last Herald Mage, it was more about Vanyel, Tylendal, Stefan, Savil, Moondance, Starwind… it was about the characters for me, not the actual plots. *chuckles* Mind you, I still need plot, love plot, but the characters are the key to any book for me, which is why I probably love romance so much. The plot tends to be the characters. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

