Skip to content

Writing Meme Day Nine & Ten

April 10, 2010

Two days in one post, since I spent most of yesterday pulling teeth with the Rachmaninoff scene. πŸ˜„

April 9th – How do you get ideas for your characters? Describe the process of creating them.

It usually starts with a situation. I think of something I’d like to do, and then create characters around that. Or, sometimes (like with Rachmaninoff), I see a piece of art that just sparks an idea for characters. On rare occasions, it’ll be a song that starts my mind turning. Like Epiphany from Trans-Siberian Orchestra’s Night Castle album. I know there’s a story churning in my head that the song sparked, a character there that’s just waiting for me to set aside my current projects and focus on him, but he was created from a feeling the song gave me.

Once I have the basic idea for the character, they are given a name. Names are incredibly important to me. I can’t write a character unless he has a name. Once the name is found, everything else seems to just fall in place. I don’t have to mess too much with finding their voice or their personalities. Those come fully formed in my head with the character. I’m rarely surprised by a direction a character takes in a story. πŸ™‚

April 10th – What are some really weird situations your characters have been in? Everything from serious canon scenes to meme questions counts!

Hmm. Weird situations? Kris may correct me on this, but I don’t think any of our characters – or mine on my own – have ever been in a weird situation. The closest I can come was Radeuriel seeing Morningstar strip in the club he worked at before Radeuriel showed up again in the narrative. But that wasn’t really weird, it was more awkward. *chuckles*

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

