Skip to content

Writing Meme Day Eleven

April 11, 2010

April 11th – Who is your favorite character to write? Least favorite?

Favorite: Kasper Bromley from Catalyst. He has been an absolute delight for me to explore. From his neurotic need for perfection to his insane level of pain tolerance to his desperate masochism, he’s deep and exciting to write. He has rules and expectations in his head placed there by his father, and he feels he will never live up to all his father wanted him to. Not only is he not a surgeon like his father wanted, but he’s gay, which leaves him with an awkward relationship with his mother and sister.

But he has wonderful friends, and his capacity to love is infinite. He doesn’t leave old lovers in the dust, and he has a strong trait of giving up the things he wants for those he loves to be happy. As selfish and manipulative as he can appear in the later portions of the storyline, he’s still incredibly selfless. Kasper is just a joy to write, and he’s a very easy voice for me to tap into.

Least favorite: Caleb in Oneiros. I don’t know why, but I just haven’t… clicked with him as a character. It’s difficult to motivate myself to return to the manuscript and continue with it. I know I’ll love the piece when I’m done, but I also know I’ll never again want to revisit Caleb as a character. He’s depressing, hopeless, and bitter. I know he won’t stay that way, but right now… he’s a pain in my ass.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

