Skip to content

Writing Meme Days Twenty-One, Twenty-Two, Twenty-Three, and Twenty-Four

April 24, 2010

I am massively falling behind on these. *shakes head* But, here are four more for your entertainment.

April 21st – Do any of your characters have children? How well do you write them?

Nope. None of them have any at the moment. In the most recent novel Kris and I are tossing about, Lorelei wants children, as does Quinn, but they’re several years from making that happen. I also don’t usually write them. Occasionally, I will, as I wrote Justyn and Jasyn as children before the meat of the story happens when they’re adults, and I think I did all right, but for the most part, I just don’t write children all that well.

April 22th – Tell us about one scene between your characters that you’ve never written or told anyone about before! Serious or not.

Oh, there are many, many scenes Kris and I have written that no one will ever see or be told about. *laughs* Many of them happened between Nikola and Aric after their two-year break, and there are several between Logan and Kasper that are just random BDSM scenes over the course of their relationship. In fact, at one point, we split off and turned Logan into a vampire and played with that a little bit, and that gave birth the the Bastian/Riley story that is the first Other Side of Night book. Kris and I will write hundreds of scenes that never get shared, simply for our enjoyment with characters we’ve grown to love. 🙂 Some may eventually become little freebies we offer on the websites, while others we’ll keep just for ourselves.

April 23th – How long does it usually take you to complete an entire story—from planning to writing to posting (if you post your work)?

That depends entirely on the length of the work and how interested I am in writing it. Rachmaninoff‘s first 50,000 words took Kris and I a month to write. Then we set it aside for nearly a year before we sat down and wrote out an actual outline. We cut about 20,000 of the initial 50,000 words, and then wrote another 53,000 words to it in the course of another month.

Planning an outline takes us about 2 hours. Sitting down and writing it can take anywhere from two weeks to eight weeks, depending on length of piece and schedules. Once we complete writing it, we offer three to four weeks to the proofreaders, and then four to six weeks to the editor. It takes, all in all, eight to twelve months from planning to publication.

April 24th – How willing are you to kill your characters if the plot so demands it? What’s the most interesting way you’ve killed someone?

I don’t like doing it. I don’t like it. I did it once for one story, and then I brought the character back in a later novel. I couldn’t leave him dead. It’s unpleasant. Terribly, terribly unpleasant. If I can avoid it, I will.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

