Skip to content

Writing Meme Days Twenty-Six, Twenty-Seven, Twenty-Eight, and Twenty-Nine

April 29, 2010

Time to play catch up again. I try to be good about daily memes, but time, exhaustion, or mood makes it difficult. But! There is memeage today. XD

April 26th – Let’s talk art! Do you draw your characters? Do others draw them? Pick one of your OCs and post your favorite picture of him!

I do not draw. Nathie does an amazing job on our covers, and that’s essentially what our main characters look like. Kris also draws, and she does sketches of other main characters that we’ve only messed around with. So far, she has one of Darron and Maelog plus some basic sketches of a couple of Elves, I believe.

When we have the funds, and we set up the RPG books for Egaea, we’ll work with Nathie for a lot of artwork with regards to that world. 🙂

Other than that, no, we don’t have any other artwork to our fiction.

April 27th – Along similar lines, do appearances play a big role in your stories? Tell us about them, or if not, how you go about designing your characters.

Appearance is important simply so there is a person, not just a vague bundle of personality traits and a voice. I tend to start with a name and build from there. Lorelei was Lorelei first, and then I worked out her personality followed by her appearance, which wound up being petite with meat on her bones, pale green-gray eyes, and long, copper-red hair. Is her appearance absolutely important to the storyline? Not really, but it makes her real to me, as she has facial expressions in my head that I can see on the face I’ve created for her through choosing an appearance.

But, usually, appearance is not worried over. All of our characters, for me at least, sort of had a… natural physical appearance I just wrote. It wasn’t like pulling teeth to know what Keegan looked like… or Nikola… or anyone else. I think the only one that had a very ‘set’ appearance, once I wouldn’t screw with, was Judas since he came from a specific time and ethnicity.

As for the part appearance plays in the stories themselves… I think it plays as much importance in my fiction as it does in real life. Appearance can spark interest, and usually does. It’s what made Dorian pursue Patrick. *chuckles*

April 28th – Have you ever written a character with physical or mental disabilities? Describe them, and if there’s nothing major to speak of, tell us a few smaller ones.

Caleb in Oneiros is HIV+. Kasper in Catalyst is obsessive about perfection to a neurotic level, unable to truly make decisions for himself, and possesses an unhealthy streak of masochism that puts him at great risk. I would like to write a character who suffers from bipolar disorder, as well as one that has borderline personality disorder, mainly because they are mental issues that plague me and I’d like to write about them.

That’s about it, though, since I don’t think vampirism or immortality count as physical disabilities. XD

April 29th – How often do you think about writing? Ever come across something IRL that reminds you of your story/characters?

I eat, sleep, breathe writing. I go to bed thinking about it, and I wake up with it on my mind. It consumes most of my waking moments. I have a lot of stories in me and a limited amount of time with which to write. I will only live a finite amount of years, and I would like to share as many of my stories as I can. I’d don’t get to write as much as I think, but that is due to time constraints as well as physical ones. *chuckles* I have to sleep, no matter how much I don’t want to.

As for real life, not usually. Outside of music, I don’t encounter much that makes me think of my stories or characters.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

