Skip to content

Time

August 22, 2010

I just don’t have it.

Well, one would think I did. I suffer from chronic insomnia (so much so that I have a nice group of meds prescribed to combat it). I haven’t fallen asleep naturally in almost three years. If I don’t take the meds, I wind up awake for days, but sometimes, even taking the meds doesn’t help.

Last night, I just didn’t take them. I was wrapped up in doing something else. Thing is, that something else? Wasn’t truly productive. And now that I’ve been up 36 hours, I won’t get anything productive done today because I need to sleep.

I have a slew of deadlines. Catalyst had to be written and to the editor by November 1st. Currently? We’re three scenes from the halfway point. Now, Kris and I can write 50K+ words over the course of 3-4 weeks, but it always leaves us feeling drained. Add to it we HAVE to have The Keeper’s Heart to the editor November 1st as well… you can see our problem. We have two novels that have to be done at the same time, and neither is where it needs to be in order to make that happen. *sighs* We may have to push the The Keeper’s Heart back by a month, and I think we can still make the February release date… if the editors can work with us. *chuckles*

Problem is, as soon as that’s done, there’s the next thing on the list. I love writing. I love sharing it with the world. But having a writing partner that lives on the other side of the country with a day job, and things can get… tense. Luckily, that situation will rectify itself next summer. For now, we’ll trudge along. Kris will be flying down in late October for two weeks, and she’ll fly in again in March for another two.

At least things are moving along. I just feel… overwhelmed at the moment with two novels that need to be finished at the same time. That’s over 100K words that need to be written. In 40 days. 40 days! *laughs* I don’t think it’s completely possible, but I know Kris and I will knock ourselves out trying. 😀

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

