Skip to content

Mark a red X on our door

August 24, 2010

I caught some odd cold recently. It’s left me coughing, fatigued, and with a terrible, terrible sore throat. I’ve been battling it for over a week now. Still, I manage to get small things done in my day.

Yesterday was mainly spent going back and forth with the typesetter about Cast the Cards. I’ve made things difficult for her, but she’s been so very patient with me. The main issue yesterday was the interior images we’d chosen to place on the title page of each story. When I purchased the images, I chose 72 dpi, and it should have been 300 dpi or vector images. This was me totally spacing on the issue. However, Julie (my typesetter) has done some monkeying about with the images and made them work beautifully. πŸ™‚

I need to send the authors the final proofs of their submission, which I will do today. I was going to do it yesterday, but I had bought a program I wanted to generate the PDFs in, but there’s been a delay in us receiving it. So, I will need to use the software I currently have.

Today’s agenda, first, is to have something to eat. Pizza is on its way. There will also be several hours spent on working on the next Catalyst scene. Deadline for that is looming. About five weeks now left, which requires us to pump out at least 12,000 words a week. Which, if we stick to our 2,000 daily word count requirement, we can manage. It just requires us really focusing. I wish I knew why we were having such a difficult time with this manuscript. It’s a project we love with characters we adore. Bah. I say we’re just being lazy. *chuckles*

We did choose to push back the release of The Keeper’s Heart. I want it to be great, and if that’s to happen, we need plenty of time to work on it. There’s so much that needs to go into it, as well as the seamless integration of all the religion issues, and we want to do it justice. For now, we have a pretty full plate with Catalyst and our contribution to the Wild Passions anthology.

There’s more drama in M/M romanceland, with lots of mudslinging and unpleasantness. I long ago came to terms with what I like to read and write (which is not JUST M/M romance), and the only person I need to please or account to is myself. I won’t be guilted into not writing or writing in a different manner (as I do put a lot of thought into the characters and situations I write) by anyone. I have the right to write whatever I like, just as they do, and they have the right to not read what they find offensive. It’s called choice. πŸ˜‰ I thought about writing up this huge post about privilege and fiction and reality and so on and so forth, but you know what? I’d rather put my time to better use writing and publishing. It’s the same reason I no longer allow myself to be dragged into useless arguments on the internet about religion, abortion, self-publishing, or sexuality. It’s just that: useless. I will use my time better. I will use my time to write the characters, worlds, and stories I love and want to share with the world.

If people read them, wonderful, if not, that’s just fine to.

I also need to, at some point, start putting together a blog tour for November (post-Cast the Cards release). This is intimidating, but I think it’s a good exercise in marketing. πŸ™‚ I would like the anthology to do well, and it has some wonderful stories in it, so I’m hoping we can find a good number of blogs that would be interested in hosting us for a tour (since the book contains M/M, F/F, and M/M/F, it has a wide audience possibility).

Now, where the hell is my pizza? XD

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

