Skip to content

Plugging Along on “Catalyst”

August 25, 2010

Over the last 48 hours, Kris and I have managed to add 4,164 words to the Catalyst manuscript. We’ve crossed over the 54,000 word mark. I would have liked to have done more than 1,000 words today, but I’ve been slammed with a migraine.

Last night, I wound up with a sudden and extremely painful leg cramp that led to me sobbing and screaming for about ten minutes before my husband could help me work it out. After the adrenaline wore off, I had a headache. By the time I woke up this morning, it was a full-blown migraine.

I tried to work through it, as we tend to have a personal goal of 2,000 words added to a manuscript each day when we have deadlines, but when we finished our scene (and only added the 1,000 words), I had to beg off. Kris understood, and so I laid in bed, half-sleeping, for about three hours. I’m up now only so I can eat something light, and then it’s back to bed. I’m crossing my fingers that this passes by tomorrow. The pain I could take, but the incredible nausea the migraine is causing… I just can’t focus with that.

Catalyst is coming along nicely. Two days, two scenes. We’re officially at the halfway point. I’m excited as this is a project that’s near and dear to my heart. It deals a lot with the psychological impacts of an unhealthy mind that latches onto BDSM as some sort of answer to their own personal demons, and I like exploring that sort of thing.

We’re in the home stretch of Rachmaninoff. We did the editor’s changes last night, and Kris is now going back through to see if there’s anything more she’d like to see changed, and then it’s my turn. It goes to the typesetter October 1st, if not sooner. Cast the Cards is with the typesetter, and we should have that all finalized and to the printer by October 1st. 😀 I’m very excited about the anthology as the stories it are just varied and beautiful. Three fantastical sort of stories, three contemporary. Two M/M, two F/F, and two ménage à trois (M/M/F specifically). Just lovely, honestly. I hope it’s well received.

That’s about all the looking at a computer screen my migraine can take. The nausea is threatening to rise again. I’m sipping on tea until Roger (the husband) returns with ginger ale and soup, but staring at the computer screen makes it difficult to keep the tea down. Blerg. I’d rather be writing. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

