Skip to content

Audio and Tours and Artists, Oh My!

September 14, 2010

After reading Kait Nolan’s post yesterday about the company Perfect Voices, I felt secure saying I thought it a way to rip off authors with low budgets who really want to see their work in audio. I still feel it’s a bit of a monetary sinkhole, but I’ve decided we’ll give it a try. I’ve sent them an inquiry about their lowest tier for the production of The Keeper.

I figure we can give a small project a try (that requires the least amount of money) and see how it goes. I’m concerned it just won’t sound good, as it’s been made very clear to me that people want to listen to a great narrator who works well with the piece. Since this is explicit, M/M sex we’re talking about (though not too much sex in this one), I just don’t know. I’m coming at it from a standpoint of I don’t listen to audio books, and I don’t really get them, but there seems to be quite a desire for them, so I’d like to fulfill that if I can. I just want to be sure that, if the narrator just doesn’t work, I can either choose a different one or back out. I refuse to put out a product that’s only so-so.

We’re also gearing up for our November blog tour. So far, we’ll be at Mia Watt’s blog, BookWenches’ place, and Zoe Winter’s blog, but we have sent out requests to another half dozen blogs we’re interested in. Over the next couple of days, we’ll email some other blogs as well. I’d be happy wit fifteen blogs in November, but, ideally, I’d like a blog every day of the month. XD

I did a guest post with Kris and Angelia Sparrow for Jessewave’s blog, though I don’t think that will be up until the end of the week. A brief, light-hearted information post about sex toys in M/M fiction. It was amusing, that’s for sure, and we got it done and to her right on time. I’ll definitely let everyone know when that’s up.

Over the next few days, I need to start the write up for Nathie with regards to what we need to commission her for in 2011. I also need to figure out if we should work with her basically from fall to fall, as she tends to hold slots open for us every October/November. If that’s the case, we’ll need to have the covers for all of April-October done in our little slot of time. ^_^ It’s always worth the upfront expense to have the cover art done and in our hands well before release date, mainly because she’s an amazing artist with a very busy schedule, and we like working with her. She comes back from her holiday in about 2 1/2 weeks, so I have until then to write everything up and get it to her.

Also? There is a giveaway going on over at Goodreads for Cast the Cards. 😀 Head on over there and enter if you’re a member of Goodreads! We’re giving away five copies, and the winners will have their copies shipped on Halloween. There will be more giveaways during our blog tour (copies of Cast the Cards AND The Keeper, as we’ve done a limited print run of the novella to give away, plus some other neat stuff we have planned), but I wanted to promote that while it’s running. 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2010 6:44 pm

    As the Producer at Perfect Voices, I can assure you, we strive for the highest quality we can, based on the tier you choose. If you choose the lowest tier, you’re not going to get all the voice talent on our roster, simply because our voice talent have their own rates based on their experience. Not all will narrate a book at $50 per finished hour. We have, however, found narrators who are willing to narrate at the lower levels for a piece of the sales royalty. If you want the whole spectrum of experienced narrators on our roster, the higher tiers can offer that.

    Keep in mind, that this is not vanity publishing. You get all the distribution of the big players: Audible, OverDrive, iTunes, Amazon, Books on Board, iAmplify, etc. Plus we have contacts with people to do reviews to help get the word out. We’re committed to every book, regardless of the tier.

    So we’re trying to change the way audiobook publishing is done. Make it affordable upfront and offer the same level of quality and distribution as the big kids on the block.

    We’re looking forward to having you as part of our team.

  2. September 20, 2010 9:25 pm

    Jeffrey,

    Thanks for replying. We’re definitely hoping that the relationship is going to pan out as well, but for the moment, we still have some concerns. Maybe not so much in the process anymore, but more with the market. Our fears are that the pricing structure that we’ve discussed with David is going to end up pricing ourselves out of the market, and we’ll end up not making back our initial investment.

    With all of the distribution channels that PV opens for us, we’re hoping that we’re wrong about that, but time will tell. At any rate, we’re going to do everything we can to maximize our chances, and are confident now that you will as well.

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

