Skip to content

Book Review: “Sister Dearest” by D.E. Athkins

December 5, 2010

Author: D.E. Athkins
Pages: 176
Synopsis: Since Vicki’s accident, everyone has been treating her like an invalid, including her brother and sister. Now someone is playing pranks on Vicki, cruel pranks that remind her of the accident. Vicki knows she can rely on her siblings to help her sort things out. After all, isn’t blood thicker than water?

I read this when I was a young teen, and I recently reread it as an adult. It’s a quick read, but reading it from the perspective of an adult brought the flaws to light that I didn’t see as a young reader. The heavy-handed foreshadowing, the unlikeable main characters, and the just downright silly, unbelievable situations just made me shake my head now. I give it 3 stars mainly because I remember liking it when I was 13, but at 30, I find that it asks for far too much suspension of disbelief to be a great read.

My Rating: 3 stars out of 5

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

