Skip to content

New Cover Art + Kinky Fun

April 17, 2011

First, I wanted to share the cover for the first M/F title K. Piet and I are writing (though it isn’t due out until next year).

It’s the first in a novella trilogy, and I think Nathie did an amazing job of capturing little character nuances. This one is called Wanderlust: Land of Nod, which takes place shortly after Cain takes the life of his brother but before he takes his first wife and founds the city of Enoch.

The novellas focus on three distinct periods of their lives: in the land of Nod, during the Inquisition, and in modern day London. We’re very excited about these, and they are not the last of M/F erotic romance you’ll see from us. šŸ™‚

Which leads me to a small discussion of kink and fetish. How, you ask? Well, Wanderlust: Land of Truth (the final novella) includes quite a bit of kink/fetish due to what profession Lilith chooses for herself, though it does tie in with other titles of ours. Catalyst, some of the Egaea books, our Venetian Mask series, and several others. While I like a nice, ‘normal’ romance as much as the next guy, what I really like is writing and reading stories about people and their kinks and fetishes.

I make a big distinction between kink, fetish, and lifestyle.

Spanking every now and again, a fisting once a month, or using a sounding rod on occasion are kinks. They’re things that make people hot, but only in the right context, in the right mood, and not often. It’s just something fun and exciting, different, and doesn’t play a huge part in a person’s sex life.

A fetish, on the other hand, is something very necessary to get off. It’s something that can drive a person to distraction, impact their sex life negatively, and may be dangerous. Logan in Catalyst had a blood fetish, a drive to use blood during sex. He could get off without it, but it was a pale shadow compared to coming with blood on his tongue. Fetishes range from shoes to fat people to blood to just about anything the mind can imagine someone obsessing over and associating with sex and orgasm. I think this is something authors can get very, very wrong in their writing, using fetish when they really mean kink.

Then, there is the BDSM lifestyle. Not just dabbling, but when BDSM plays a major part in everyday life, in most of the sex had. This, honestly, is one of my favorite things to read and write. I love to see it portrayed well, right. Not violence, but sensual pain. I think that’s something that’s always misunderstood with BDSM. I’ve seen a lot of simple kink labeled BDSM, a lot of violence labeled BDSM, and a lot of rape and abuse labeled BDSM. There is such a huge, huge difference, and I wish more authors knew that and portrayed BDSM, kink, and fetish right. It would make me more comfortable purchasing novels labeled thusly.

BDSM sells well. Kink sells well. I’m not sure fetish sells well as I think the term tends to put people off. Because it sells well, there is a glut of mediocre and sad excuses for erotic BDSM fiction out there. I’m crossing my fingers I’m never labeled such an author! šŸ™‚ I’ll continue to write BDSM, kink, and fetishes as my characters demand, and I will always try to label the work appropriately; I also hope the market will speak and the awful tripe and horrific abuse that I see churned out will slowly sink into obscurity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

