Skip to content

An Unexpected Detour

May 28, 2011

I had planned to update twice a week here when I made my last post, but life had other plans. I wound up in the hospital last weekend with some serious abdominal pain. Five years of living with a bum gall bladder, and the thing finally gave up. Four days in the hospital, one laproscopic surgery, and I was home by Tuesday evening with four surgical wounds, lots of freaking pain, and a nice prescription of Percocet to see me through the worst of it. I swear, hospitals drain me. There is no real chance to rest and recover. Every four hours, someone was coming in to bother me about vitals. Every two hours, someone was coming in to bug me about checking my blood sugar. And every four to eight hours, someone was in that room to reload an IV bag or two… and NO ONE was on the same schedule, so I was lucky to ever manage two consecutive hours of sleep! Oi! I was so happy to be home, in my own bed, despite the massive amounts of pain, because it meant that I slept six solid hours Tuesday night before I had to get up. 😀

Recovery has been slowish. I left the hospital with an unrelated infection (yay for IV antibiotics that can actually make one’s body a breeding ground for bacteria), so that’s only now beginning to clear up. I’m still tired all the time, and my incision sites ache. Luckily, the referred pain has abated 90% and I can walk with a lot more ease. I see the surgeon Tuesday to have my stitches out, and I am assured I will feel 100% better within a few more weeks (though other assure me I won’t for another six months). I just know I’d like to begin writing again as soon as possible, but the muse has fled in the wake of the ouchie the whole ordeal has left me with.

There’s a sale going on at ARe at the moment, and I indulged in ten random titles. There are about a dozen more I’m interested in, though, so I may poke back over there before the sale is over. My new acquisitions are:

A Thread of Deepest Black by Finn Marlowe
Bayou Dreams by Lynn Lorenz
Blood Relations by J.P. Bowie
Bound by Deception by Ava March
Bound to Him by Ava March
Bound Forever by Ava March
His Client by Ava March
Midnight Playground by Eliza Gayle
Nowhere Ranch by Heidi Cullinan
The Thirteenth Child by J.L. O’Faolain (I’m really regretting this purchase already as it seems one of those bait-and-switch deals Dreamspinner likes to do with their reading audience, which is why I usually avoid their titles completely)

Some I am more excited about than others, but I like variety. 🙂

Now I just need find time to actually read the books I buy. My TBR pile is just… so large. I worry I won’t get through them unless I go somewhere without internet connections. Mmm. A holiday. I so very much want to take a nice, long holiday. I think I need to simply organize my TBR pile because I’d very much like to review the titles I plan to read. Maybe not huge, in-depth reviews, but at least a handful of sentences. We shall see.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

