Skip to content

Research Material Has Arrived!

June 21, 2011

I had this lovely idea for a trilogy of books a couple weeks ago. I ran it by a couple of authors, by my co-author, and decided, yep, it was a solid idea. This meant I needed to buy a couple of books for research. Said books arrived today. This makes me excited. I love the research phase, even when what I will write is fiction. The tentative title for the trilogy is Deal With A Devil, and the working title for the first book is Blood Pact. Make of that what you will. 😉

K. Piet is arriving next week. She’s moving in! This has been our goal now for… two years, I think. Maybe three. It’s so much easier to run Storm Moon Press and write together when she’s in town. Usually, this meant two bi-yearly trip, each lasting 14-18 days. It was incredibly inconvenient because the first week is always us goofing off and having fun. Then we’d feel rushed to get any work done. This won’t be a problem anymore! 😀 I’m really excited about this. I’ll give her a couple of days to settle in, and then we’re going to dive into work.

Work is mainly taking all our ideas and break them down into short stories, novellas, novels, and series. Once that’s done, we’ll prioritize them. Once that’s done, we’ll begin outlining the most immediate manuscripts so we can begin working on those while also outlining others. We also want to begin the big work on the Egaea books. I think we’re going to start with the character bible, then the timeline, and then outline the first book (which is called The Wolf-King and is a standalone, self-contained story that introduces readers to Sephryn, the realm of Stoyrm, it’s half-Maith, half-wold king, and the Maith who has fallen in love with him). Egaea has been in the works for YEARS now, and I’m so excited about finally working on it for publication, not just my personal amusement.

There are also two freebie serial stories K. Piet and I plan to work on. We’re definitely going to continue on with A Knight’s Sacrifice, as it was such a potent, bittersweet story in our heads that it’s never quite left. The second serial involves twincest, though, which I think might limit the interest in it, but we love the characters and the story, so we will just share it and cross our fingers! It still needs a title, but I’ll sort that out a little later on. I’m just really excited about writing again, and that hasn’t happened in months. 🙂

But, first and foremost, we will finish all the rewrites to Other Side of Night: Bastian & Riley, and then work on Polyfidelity. Those two, our novella and novel releases in September and December, are the biggest, most important projects to us at the moment.

Exciting things to come. The downside? I’ve come down with a cold of some sort. I’ve felt worn out and bitchy the last two or three days, and when I woke up this morning, I had a scratchy, irritated throat. It’s only gotten worse throughout the day, and now there’s a pesky cough attached to it. I have the humidifier going, and I will dose myself up tonight with NyQuil, but the last thing I need is to be sick when I have a house to prepare for K.!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

