Skip to content

My Philosophy

February 8, 2012

I’m putting on my publisher hat for a moment.

Storm Moon Press is author-centric. We pride ourselves on asking our authors’ their opinions, their needs. We like including them on just about all aspects of the production of their book. We work with awesome editors. Our cover artists are amazing. The typesetter we work with is exceptional. Together, we all make beautiful books. Storm Moon Press is something very dear to me, something I’ve poured countless hours and dollars into, and I’m proud of it.

The thing I’m most proud of? When an author comes back to me after we’ve published something of theirs and says, “I loved the press and the process so much, I want to give you my next manuscript.” That is the greatest feeling. We are trusted, and we never want to let our authors down. Creative differences aside, Storm Moon Press is bent on only publishing great stories by amazing authors with outstanding voices. It’s all subjective, and we understand that, but we’re happy with what we’ve done, and we’ll not stop.

As an author, I’m very reader-centric. I like engaging my readers. I like asking them questions, hearing their thoughts. It’s quite an experience to exchange a couple emails as someone deconstructs one of your characters in ways you never imagined. When I write something, I always keep in the back of my mind, “Will a reader like this twist? Is this too much? Will the reader go with me on this?” I strive to never make my reader regret giving me the trust they have when they pick up one of my books.

I push the envelope at times. I try new things. I add twists and turns to keep the book exciting while seeing it through to the end vision I have. But, always, the reader is in my mind. I don’t write just for me. I don’t write for an audience of millions, either. I write, quite honestly, what I—as a reader—would love to see, and I hope that the reader goes along with me on that journey.

It’s not an insular, solitary environment anymore. Writing and publishing, things that were one shrouded in business and creative license, have been flayed open and laid bare. The face of publishing is changing rapidly, and a lot of people are getting left behind. Writing is becoming a much more easily achievable goal, with publication just a click away. Publishers have stopped caring about authors, and I think many authors are forgetting about their readers. Publishers must remember where their product comes from, and authors need to remember whose money makes up the royalties.

Books are a commodity. A luxury item. In a time when the economy is poor, a good book at a reasonable price is a highly sought after gem. Publishers owe authors and readers that good product, and authors owe their readers the respect the author-reader bond affords. Make sure you’re sending your manuscripts to a press who knows what side the bread is buttered on, and that you’re delivering a damn fine product to readers who are spending their hard money on your creative baby.

Work with author-centric presses that produce high quality books, and be a reader-centric author and listen to what your readers have to say. 🙂 You may find your experience in this business a pleasant one rather than a frustrating battle if you find that wonderful balance.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

