Skip to content

Blog Tours, Blog Tours Everywhere

February 10, 2012
tags:

Once a year, I participate in a month-long blog tour for Storm Moon Press. We spend thirty or so days visiting a blog or two each day with blog posts, giveaways, and interviews. Only once a year. The rest of the year, we’ll do guest posts or interviews on blogs in our genre, but we don’t do blog tours again until October rolls around and we do our annual one.

This is because, for a blog tour to be effective, it needs to not happen EVERY DAMN DAY. It needs to not be for EVERY BOOK, especially in this genre when an author has the potential of putting out a new book every other month. It also needs to not drag on for MONTHS at a time. I say this as a reader of many blogs, as well as an author and publisher to participates in such events.

Every time I log into Goodreads or Twitter or onto a mailing list, I see yet another blog tour or blog hop. Honestly? I ignore them now. I think a lot of people ignore them unless they’re already fans of the author or there’s something being given away. Neither of those reasons are reasons to have one. I look at a blog tour as a way to reach new readers as well as reconnect with old ones. It’s supposed to promote a new book, not giveaway free shit at every stop. Free is good, but free needs to be done with a conservative hand.

But, at this point, I just roll my eyes and click ‘delete’. No one seems to have anything new or interesting to say—especially not on the fourth month-long blog tour—and I’ve better things to do with my time. The posts are usually pointless (as they have to be when you have to come up with that much content), and the comments are sparse unless there’s a giveaway. And even then, the comments are just entries into the giveaway, not conversation. Where has all the conversation gone?

If you’re going to do a blog tour, do it smart. Quick, concise posts that are interesting or funny. Keep it short. Do a five day tour of a couple of blogs that you usually don’t post on. Get conversation going. Do minimal giveaways that require those who comment to add to the conversation. If not, I’m just going to delete the invite or announcement, and I’m likely going to avoid you as promo-whore who just smears their name all over the internet thinking it’ll get you sales. 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2012 11:48 am

    You know what pisses me off, in a related phenomenon – getting invited to a bazillion events and requests to vote on lists on Goodreads by two, maybe three people.

    What ever happened to an event being an EVENT? I mean, why not just celebrate Christmas every two weeks, too?

    I’m probably not meant to say that in public, but I cannot bring myself to care right this second.

  2. February 10, 2012 9:17 pm

    Ceclilia — That also annoys the piss out of me. And it’s usually people I barely even know beyond ‘an author’. The endless blog tours for every release coupled with Goodreads and Facebook spam ensure those are authors and publishers I never buy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

