Skip to content

Recipe Monday: Mayonnaise

April 23, 2012
tags:

Today’s recipe is a simple one. It’s mayonnaise.

I’m a huge fan of mayo. Love it. Usually, I keep a jar of Kraft mayo in my fridge. It’s my go-to, long-lasting mayonnaise. I use it on sandwiches, in hamburger meat, for my deviled eggs, in my salad dressings. I’ve even made a chocolate cake using mayo. It was awesome. Shelf stable mayo is a great condiment that I love having in my fridge, but sometimes? Homemade mayonnaise is what you really want.

Ultimately, I don’t use this for much. Usually, it’s as a dip or mixed into something. I have an awesome lobster salad that I make using homemade mayonnaise. My favorite way of using it, though, is for a dip with asparagus, artichokes, or potatoes. 😀 You need a little muscle, about 10 minutes, and then you’ll have one of the best condiments for just about anything.

Ingredients
1/2C neutral oil (I use canola, but grapeseed would also be good)
1 egg yolk
1TBSP white wine vinegar (though you could use almost ANY flavored white vinegar; I like tarragon)
1TBSP lemon juice
salt
pepper

Directions
This is simple. In a mixing bowl, add your egg yolk (yes, a raw egg yolk), vinegar, salt, pepper. Start whisking. I usually make K. or R. help at this point. As I whisk, one of them slowly—and I mean SLOWLY—drizzles in the oil. You have to take your time with this or the emulsification will never happen. When the oil is half incorporated, you can pour a little faster, but don’t get overzealous.

When all the oil has been incorporated, you’ll have mayonnaise. Add in the lemon juice. Taste it. Does it need more salt? More lemon? I tend to wind up adding a little more salt at this stage.

Now, you have mayonnaise! Woot!

You can do so many things with it. For boiled potatoes, I like mixing in a clove or two of grated garlic, chives, and parsley. For artichokes, I like adding a head of roasted garlic and a good squeeze more of lemon juice. For asparagus, I like just lemoning it up really well. For chicken or fish, I like adding a shallot and some tarragon. It’s awesome and versatile. Your imagination is the limit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

