Skip to content

OutlantaCon 2012 Recap + Pictures!

May 9, 2012

From May 3 until May 7, I was out of town with K. and R. at OutlantaCon. Awesome. Simple as that. My experience was pretty limited mainly because I am massively antisocial and scared of people, but R. and K. seemed to have a really great time. I know we’re definitely going back next year. K.’s been accepted as a guest!

We got in Thursday afternoon and just sort of… crashed. We all took showers, ordered some food (OMG, the room service was the worst I have ever had), and did our nails. Elizabeth Hyder dropped by before room service got their asses in gear and delivered, so we talked, ate, and just hung out. It was a lot of fun. Shortly after Elizabeth left, we collapsed into bed for one of the worst nights of sleep I’ve ever had.

Friday, we rolled out of bed well before the alarm was set for. None of us had slept well. We had some food, pulled out clothes and makeup, and then got to work. Around 2pm, we headed downstairs to the dealer room and set up. We met Shae Conner, Kiernan Kelly, T.C. Blue, and J.P. Barnaby. Later in the afternoon, Violetta Vane showed up. It was so great to meet people I’ve been chatting with through email and Twitter! The day was pretty easy, not too much going on, and we chatted with several con-goers. Angelia Sparrow showed up with her minion, Gabriel, who we shared our room with. It was a lot of fun just chatting and laughing. We all went to bed around midnight-ish, but again, I didn’t sleep well at all.

Saturday arrived way too soon. We all rolled out of bed around 8am. We all dressed, did makeup, and then made our way down into the dealer room. This is where I stayed all Saturday. K. went to a couple panels, and R. went to a couple workshops, but I stayed and manned the table. We met Kayelle Allen, which was lovely, and Violetta Vane came back over to hang out for a while. There was more chatting with con-goers, laughter, pictures, and then I got sick. Like… blerg sick. I ducked out around 3:30pm, went to our room, and just stayed put. It seemed that I was having some weird allergic reaction on my leg from some unknown source, and then I just felt like crap. I stayed in bed, hung out with K., and was in bed by midnight. R. went to the zombie ball, and then stayed up until 5am with a bunch of the other attendees playing Never Have I and Truth or Dare. He had a lot of fun. XD

Sunday morning, I woke up sick as a dog. K. and R. ran the dealer table on their own that day. I had an awesome moment when a reader bought ALL my titles and had me inscribe and sign them. 😀 Another reader had me sign his copy of Other Side of Night: Bastian & Riley. It was a pick-me-up. Sunday was when Angelia and Gabriel bid us farewell. I really enjoyed sharing the space with them! Sunday was low-key for us once the dealer room closed and the con wrapped up. We had Elizabeth in our room again for more chatting and sharing of ice cream. She left after a bit, and then we started winding down for the night.

I think Sunday night was the night we all slept the best we had the entire trip. Monday dawned, we packed up and headed out around 11am. It rained off and on all the way back to Tampa.

K. and I received SO many compliments on our hair. 😀 It’s just ensured that every con we do, we’re going to do something wild with our hair. Over all, it was just fun, and I think next year will be even more fun for us. In the end, I met a lot of incredibly wonderful people that I definitely want to see again.

And now, it’s picture time! Just for ease, K. is the rainbow-haired one, I’ve got the longer hair, and R. is the boy with blue hair. 😀

                               

Again, the con was awesome and we can’t WAIT until next year. :D!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 11, 2012 10:58 pm

    Outlanta sounded fun, sorry you became ill though.

    This is an early comment but I just wanted to say “Thank You” for letting me be included in your Hop Against Homophobia. I am afraid I am not a talented m/m fiction writer like yourself but I am an avid reader of it.

    I guess I do not fit into any category really since I write non-fiction for an adult gay studio.
    http://shadowsterling.blogspot.com/2012/04/studio-i-write-for.html

    But this is a cause I feel strongly about and I wanted to let you know I appreciate the opportunity to be included.

    I put a post up at the top of my blog on May 5th and it will remain up until May 19th. http://shadowsterling.blogspot.com/2012/05/straights-and-international-day-against.html

    Since I do not write books I will be donating money to PFLAG here in the U.S. in the name of the winner.

    Thank you again for the inclusion.

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

