Skip to content

Recipe Monday: Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp

July 16, 2012
tags:

For a short time in the spring, fresh rhubarb shows up in my grocery store. It’s a brief, wonderful season here that I try to always take advantage of. I buy it cheap and freeze it. When I run out, I can usually find it sold frozen online, and I can buy it then. I much prefer buying it locally and freezing it myself, though, so I can use it year round. I love the tart, astringent flavor of it on its own, but paired with strawberries (also perfectly in season in spring), it’s a match made in culinary heaven.

Ingredients
1lbs rhubarb, sliced thickly
1-1 1/2lbs strawberries, quartered
3/4C sugar
1/4C flour
1TBSP lemon juice
1/2tsp salt

Crisp topping:
1C old fashioned oats
1/2C flour
1/2C brown sugar
1/4C white sugar
1 stick butter, cold and cubed
1/2tsp salt

This makes six individual servings in 6oz ramekins.

Using softened butter, grease the interior of the ramekins. Preheat oven to 350F.

In a bowl, combine strawberries, rhubarb, sugar, flour, lemon juice, and salt. Mix thoroughly. Portion into the six ramekins.

In another bowl, add oats, flour, sugars, salt, and butter. Using your fingers, work the butter into the dry ingredients until it makes a crumble topping. Top the six ramekins. Don’t pack it on tightly, just enough to keep it in place. Put the ramekins on a sheet tray lined with foil and bake them for 30-45 minutes. Let cool 15 minutes before serving.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

