Skip to content

The Next Best Thing Blog Challenge

August 8, 2012
tags:

I nabbed this little meme from Angelia Sparrow and Erastes. 😀

1) Answer the 10 questions below.
2) Spread the fun.

1. What is the title of your book / WIP?
My solo WIP is Human Rights.

2. Where did the idea of the book come from?
Watching an episode of Family Guy where humans were the pets and dogs were the dominant species. I took it a step further, placing felines and canines (mainly big cats and wolves) as the dominant species with humans the pets they keep.

3. What genre would your book fall under?
Fantasy and furry. XD My first real furry title, actually. I always said I would never want to write such characters, but… I have been taught the lesson to never say never.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Actually, I almost never invision real people playing the characters I write. 🙂 I’ve sat here for fifteen minutes trying to think of someone, but… nope. Nada. I’m also not really aware of actors anymore. I almost never watch current films, so… yeah. Out of touch here.

5. What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?
Humanoid canines and felines keep humans as pets, but there are those among them believe that their pets should be treated as sentient, autonomous equals.

6. Is your book published or represented?
Human Rights should come out from Storm Moon Press in late spring of 2013. 😀

7. How long did it take you to write it?
I’m still writing it. I’m just over 1/4 of the way through it. I hope to take the fall to focus on finishing it up. If I focus, I can writing in a four to six weeks. But, life has a way of not cooperating. >.>

8. What other books in your genre would you compare it to?
Umm… none? XD I think this one is pretty unique to the genre.

9. Which authors inspired you to write this book?
None.

10. Tell us anything else that might pique our interest in your book.
This is the sort of story that I hope will make readers think about what I present them. There are several themes I’m trying to wind into this story, from innocence to what it means to be an individual to loving one that society says you shouldn’t–or can’t–love. It presents more as a D/s tale, but it’s not. The imbalance of power is imposed by society, and the love story is how both Ewan and Jiat can reach a more equal ground while challenging and changing the society they live in. 🙂 It’s more than a love story, more than social commentary, and it’s far more than I thought it would be when I dreamed up the story itself. I hope readers enjoy it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

