Skip to content

Recipe Monday: Black Bean & Corn Salsa

September 17, 2012
tags:

The husband-thing loves corn and black bean salsa. He buys it almost every opportunity he can. I’m also a fan, in theory, but the prepared versions he’d buy were never anything special. They’re usually under-seasoned and heavy on the Spanish onion. I already make a mean guacamole and an awesome salsa (which I’ve been making for him for the last twelve years), so I thought… what the hell? Might as well make this, too. It’s pretty simple, delicious, and inexpensive. It’s also protein packed (as tomatoes and black beans are high in protein), so it’s a guilt-free dip for me.

Ingredients
15oz tin drained and rinsed black beans
3 medium shallots, minced
3 roma tomatoes, seeded and fine diced
3 garlic cloves, grated (I use my microplane for this)
7oz frozen corn, thawed
1 large bunch cilantro, minced
3 limes, juiced
salt and pepper to taste

Bang everything into a bowl and mix thoroughly. Taste it. I usually start with 1tsp of salt and 1/2tsp pepper, but I always need more. I then begin adjusting for taste. Salt, pepper, lime, and cilantro. Sometimes, you just need more of something, sometimes less. Be aware of the acidity of your limes because, if they aren’t very acidic, it can really throw the whole taste off.

Chill for about two hours. It gives time for the flavors to mingle. You could add jalapeno or serrano peppers for some heat, but traditionally, this is a very mild salsa. I think, if you’re a fan of cumin, a little cumin would be nice. It would give a Mexican, spicy warmth. Not heat, but warmth.

I also use shallot because it’s a much milder onion flavor. If you like Spanish onion or red onion or whatever, use that instead. 🙂

My favorite way to eat this salsa is on thick blue corn tortilla chips, covered in Mexican blench cheese, baked a few minutes, and then topped with the salsa and some sour cream. A light, delicious lunch!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

