Skip to content

Cover Reveal: “Humans Rights”!

September 21, 2012

I’ve kept this cover very close during its creation, not sharing it much with anyone. In the end, Nathie did such amazing work. Taking my convoluted ramblings and turning them into this masterpiece, Nathie captured Jiat’s quiet regalness and Ewan’s broken spirit. It’s beautiful. It’s everything I’d hoped for and more. It’s a first for both of us, and anthros just isn’t our usual subject, but I’m so glad we did this. 😀 Here is the cover and another small teaser bit for it.

I turned my face into his touch, kissed his palm reverently. My master’s heart hurt, and I wished I could heal it just a little. I had so many questions, and I hadn’t be reprimanded for my first one, so I chose another. “I don’t understand the full purpose of the Human Rights Movement. Victoria once told me that it was a movement of Felines and Canines that…” I blushed, not wanting to compliment my own species so brazenly, even if they had been Victoria’s words.

“Tell me what Victoria said,” Sir Jiat urged. “I know there is a question brewing in you, so out with it all, my sweet Ewan.”

The way he said my name, calling me his, calling me sweet, made the blush all the deeper. “She told me that those who were a part of the Movement thought we shouldn’t be bred and kept as pets. That… those of the Movement thought us intelligent, thought we should be equals.” I tilted my head a little. “Is that what it is? Is that… how you see me?”

Sir Jiat leaned back against the rest of the tub. “Yes, in the simplest terms. Humans are enslaved. Beaten. Treated as nothing but prizes for our kind to own. It may have always been so, but just because it’s always been doesn’t mean it must always be.” He cupped the water, let it slip through his fingers. “The Movement seeks to legislate equality. Free those who wish to be free, protect those who wish to remain owned. We want to see choice given to all Humans.” His slitted eyes turned to me, and my heart began to pound. “We want to be able to love Humans as we love each other.”

I shook my head, breathing quickly. “That is a sin. That will bring about any pet’s death!”

Something shifted in Sir Jiat’s gaze, but I didn’t understand what I was looking at. “Sometimes, death must be risked to achieve progress. Outside this city, there is a colony, Ewan. It has Felines and Canines making lives side by side with Humans. No one is owned. There are not pets, no collars, nothing but love and determination to make a better world for ourselves and our children. The law in this city does not reach the colony, and while lawmakers here wish to keep silent the existence of the colony, many of us know of it. Many of us want to live there ourselves, but some must remain here to help change the laws.”

“But, how?” My brow furrowed. How could a whole colony exist and no pet know of it? “How can such a place be?”

Sir Jiat smiled at me, an indulgent, soft smile. “Where there is a will, sweet Ewan, there is a way. As needed, we leave this city and never come back. But, until circumstances dictate, we remain here, making changes where we can.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. arella3173 permalink
    September 21, 2012 6:58 pm

    OMG…. I am doing to LOVE this!! I am so excited for it!! \^o^/
    congrats on getting such a wonderful cover!! *____*

  2. September 21, 2012 7:22 pm

    😀 I hope you like it when it comes out! I’m so excited, and I’m just so happy with the cover.

  3. September 24, 2012 1:15 am

    I’m late to the party but I just wanted to say, “Yes!” I can’t wait to read this and the cover…stunning.

  4. Cristian Segura permalink
    November 22, 2012 12:39 am

    It is an amazing cover and I can’t wait to read the novella!

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

