Skip to content

Recipe Monday: Fried Chicken

October 8, 2012
tags:

First, I’d like to say that I was lucky enough to be selected to be a part of All Romance eBooks’ Passionate Cooks cookbook. My Cranberry Green Beans are in the side dishes category. šŸ˜€ Grab it. It’s free!

Now, on to today’s recipe. I love fried chicken. I really do. It’s a guilty, lovely pleasure for me. But, over the past twenty years, I’ve yet to find a recipe I loved. I’ve tried various concoctions, but I was never quite satisfied. The other night, though, when the store had run out of pre-made fried chicken bits, I sat down to make some myself. The end result was a huge success with the family, and so it’s now my go-to recipe for fried chicken. We used boneless, skinless breasts, but next time, I’m doing it with bone-in, skin-on chicken pieces.

Ingredients
1 bone-in, skin-on chicken, cut into pieces
2C buttermilk
2 eggs
2C all purpose flour
1TBSP salt
2TBSP raw sugar
1/2TBSP pepper
2tsp paprika
2tsp garlic powder
2tsp onion powder
2tsp dried parsley
oil to fry in

For one, I prefer to fry in peanut oil. If you’re allergic to it, go ahead and use a canola oil.

In a big plastic bag, pour in the buttermilk, 2tsp salt, 1tsp pepper, 1tsp paprika, 1tsp garlic powder, and 1tsp onion powder. Mix it around, and then add the chicken. This should sit in the buttermilk, ideally, overnight. Yeah, it’s plan ahead meal, but the overnight soak does amazing things to the chicken.

In a bowl that you can dip the chicken pieces into, mix up the two eggs. On a plate, pour the flour, 2tsp salt, 2 TBSP raw sugar (raw sugar is best for this), 2tsp pepper, 1tsp paprika, 1tsp garlic powder, 1tsp onion powered, and the 2tsp of dried parsley. Mix it thoroughly. This is a double dredge method. Roll a piece of the buttermilk coated chicken in the flour, toss it with the egg, and then re-coat it with the flour. The best thing you can do is set up a cooling rack on a cookie sheet and place the battered chicken on the cooling rack for 15 minutes. This will allow the crust to set, and it won’t slough off in the frying process.

I heat my oil over medium high. I add half the chicken (as I use a large pan). This will drop the temperature of the oil significantly. When the chicken begins to brown, I turn my burner down slightly. I don’t use a thermometer, so I wind up just watching the chicken and adjusting my heat up or down as needed. Ultimately, the chicken should cook 15 minutes on one side, 10 minutes on the other (which should result in a deep, golden crust on both sides).

Transfer the cooked chicken to a cooling rack over a baking sheet. You can keep it in a low oven for about half an hour before it begins to lose its crispness.

It’s so very good. XD We love it. It has so much flavor and tenderness. If you love fried chicken, give this one a shot and let me know what you think!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

