Skip to content

Recipe Monday: Roasted Red Bliss Potatoes

October 22, 2012
tags:

In our household, carbohydrates have to be eaten in moderation. I was recently diagnosed as a Type II diabetic, which we always expected since I have had insulin resistance since I was thirteen (thanks to the PCOS). I’m on Byetta now, along with my metformin, but there is a desire to lose some weight and not aggravate the diabetes, and so we’re a low-carb-ish family. 🙂 So, one of the things we love are roasted potatoes. I can control portions better with roasted potatoes than with mashed or the like, so think is my go-to recipe for them. I use Red Bliss potatoes mainly because they’re sweeter than Russets, and I like their skin. They also have a decent carb load, so I don’t feel bloated with a 1/2C portion. This recipe tends to feed three of us pretty nicely as a side dish with a protein and a vegetable.

Ingredients
1lb Red Bliss potatoes
3TBSP oil (I use canola)
1TBSP dried parsley
2tsp salt
1tsp pepper
1tsp garlic powder
1tsp paprika
1/2tsp onion powder

Pre-heat oven to 400F and line a cookie sheet with foil (I have grown to love non-stick foil).

I tend to cut the potatoes into 1-inch to 1 1/2-inch dice. Toss them in to a large bowl with the oil and spices. Make sure all the potatoes are coated, and then pour it all out onto the baking sheet. Bake 20-30 minutes, until crisp and lightly browned all over. Absolutely delicious!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

