Skip to content

Recipe Monday: Sausage Gravy

November 12, 2012
tags:

Long ago and far away, I fell in love with sausage gravy. My father would make it on special occasions, and I would devour it like you wouldn’t believe. When I got married, he showed me how to make it myself, and then I turned the recipe into my own. It’s a once a month treat for us because it’s very carb heavy, and I don’t make my own biscuits. I use canned biscuit dough.

Ingredients
1lb mild ground pork sausage
1C heavy cream
1C whole milk
4TBSP butter
2TBSP flour
salt and pepper

In a large skillet, brown the pork sausage. When I mean brown, I don’t mean that it’s all gray and cooked. Put it over medium high heat and cook it until little bits of caramelized goodness form on your ground pork. Drain it and set it aside. In the same skillet over medium low heat, add the 2TBSP butter and 2TBSP flour. Whisk it together and cook for a couple of minutes until the raw taste of flour is lost. Slowly add your milk, whisking constantly to prevent lumps. Add in your cream. Season with salt and pepper. Now, the salt and pepper is personal, but I tend to use about a teaspoon of ground black pepper and a teaspoon of salt.

Add the sausage to the gravy and cook over low heat until the biscuits are done. I always taste my gravy at this point and adjust thickness, salt, pepper, and butter. This is where I add the additional 2TBSP of butter, usually an additional splash of cream or water to thin the gravy some, and more salt and pepper. Serve over warm buttermilk biscuits. So good!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

