Skip to content

Lately, I’m A Bad Blogger

November 30, 2012
tags:

I have been horribly remiss in blogging lately. I can only blame the hectic holiday schedule. I hosted Thanksgiving at my home for the first time, and that sucked up about three days of my life. Recovery time was another day. Now, I’m gearing up for the winter holidays!

Winter holidays are my favorite. I love them. Absolutely love. I am my most cheerful, forgiving, and joyous right through New Year’s Day. πŸ˜€ We’re going out Monday afternoon to choose our Christmas tree (a Fraser fir, my favorite). Saturday, I begin my frantic baking. My plan is:

Peanut brittle (several pounds)
Marshmallows (candy cane, orange-chocolate, and root beer float)
Cherry-almond spritz cookies
Almond-raspberry sandwich cookies drizzled with dark chocolate
Sugar cookies
Honeycomb
Raspberry-vanilla petit fours
Hazelnut-chocolate petit fours
Coconut macaroons

It will take me a week or two to get all the baking and cooking squared away. But I’m so looking forward to it. Christmas tree, fairy lights, colorful ornaments, and holiday music. It all brings me such peace and happiness. Husband-thing is very grouchy during the holidays, but I never let it get me down. I smile and sing and laugh regardless of any Grinches in my life.

I’m also writing. I have a short story due Dec. 15th (co-authored with the awesome Erik Moore), and I am trying to finish the second episode of Immortal Symphony: Overture with K. Piet so we can begin the third (we’re ahead of schedule at the moment). I also have my co-authored short story with K. for Cari Z, who won a short story from us in Piper’s and MJ’s Hurricane Sandy relief auction. On top of it all, I’m trudging my way through Human Rights so I can finish that ASAP.

We did sort out next year’s writing, and the list makes me want to cry. πŸ˜„ We’ll see how much I can do. Ultimately, SMP is doing awesomely, and that pulls me away from my writing. But, I’m trying to balance it all.

The Mondays in December will be baking recipes (mostly from the stuff up above), and Fridays will be fiction teasers. I can’t promise content on Wednesdays in December. I’m going to try, but… no promises. πŸ˜‰

DSC05692

Dorian say hi!
One Comment leave one →
  1. November 30, 2012 3:49 pm

    If you’ve been a bad blogger, I’m just… SO MUCH WORSE! *weeps* I’ll have to make a point to blog tonight after my shift. I’ve been so terrible about it. I never know what to talk about, even when it’s as simple as just summing up what I’ve been up to! >.< *must kick own ass*

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

