Skip to content

Fifteen Years Later…

January 16, 2013
tags:

Art banner design of red roses and the paper heart on Valentine

Fifteen years ago today, two months before my 18th birthday (and two months after his 19th birthday), I married the man I knew I didn’t want to live my life without. He was in his final months of college, and I was working at a Blockbuster Video. It wasn’t anything spectacular, except that we got lost on our way to the courthouse.

We arrived after 5pm on a Friday.

Luckily, there was a couple ahead of us in line, and because they held it all up, we were able to slide in before the office closed. Just a piece of paper. His signature. My signature. My parents’ signature. My brother was there. My grandmother was there. I dressed in a pair of silver slacks and a lovely white blouse. He worse a simple suit. My mom gave me a small bouquet. The lady behind the counter married us, and then we went back to my parents’ house.

We had champagne. We took pictures. We laughed. Then, we went to our hotel. The ladies at the hotel had left us a chilled bottle of wine, two wine glasses, and a card congratulating us. I don’t think they realized we were both under 21. XD But it was lovely. Everything had gone about how I’d hoped, and I was married. I was happy. I wouldn’t change a moment of that day, nor would I change any other moment of the last fifteen years with Roger. My Code Monkey. My husband-thing.

I got my happily ever after, and I’ve cherished every moment of it.

Tonight, we’re celebrating with friends. Food, games, laughter.

Happy Anniversary, Roger! 😀

5 Comments leave one →
  1. zachsweets permalink
    January 16, 2013 10:34 am

    Happy anniversary!!

  2. Cari Z permalink
    January 16, 2013 11:58 am

    Happy anniversary, I hope you have many more wonderful years together!

  3. Jason permalink
    January 16, 2013 12:33 pm

    Happy Anniversary!!

  4. Cristian Segura permalink
    January 17, 2013 12:09 am

    Happy Anniversary!!

  5. January 20, 2013 1:55 pm

    Thank you all for the well wishes! 😀

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

