Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving + What I Am Thankful For

November 28, 2013
tags:

Thanksgiving Day
 
 

Things I Am Thankful For

 
1. My husband, Roger. He has supported and loved me, held me when I cried and laughed with me. He’s given me everything and anything my heart desires, and he’s the mate of my soul. I can’t imagine my life without his smile, his laughter, his love. He’s the other half of me, and I am so very grateful to have found him early in my life.

2. My partner, Kris. Kris has been there through so much, and she’s become as important to me as Roger. I love her, and I can’t imagine my writing, Storm Moon Press, RainbowCon, or KS Charms being half of what they are without her. She makes me laugh, infuriates me, appreciates my cooking, and shares half a brain with me. Our worlds are rich and varied, and she can finish my thoughts so very easily. I am thankful for having her in my life and heart.

3. My mother, Gail. Despite those rocky teen years, my mother has been one of the greatest foundations in my life. My mother taught me to be who I am no matter what, that who I am is nothing to be ashamed of, and that her love came without strings, without conditions, without judgment. She has struggled so much in her life, and she’s done without so I could have, and I am so very lucky to have her in my life.

4. My father, Don. When Roger and I were flat on our asses and in need of help, guidance, and a home, my dad was there. When some parents would ignore a call for help, my dad always had his hand out, ready to help me back up. He gave me the opportunity to have what I do today, and I am forever thankful for that.

5. My brother, Christopher. Though we were very adversarial growing up, in my adult years, I came to appreciate my brother for the loving, hardworking man he’s become. He makes me so proud to see who he is.

6. My pets. As a woman who cannot have children of her own, my cats and dogs are my children. I love and pamper them as if I gave birth to them myself, and they help soothe so much hurt that I’d be a miserable mess without them. They bring me joy and peace.

7. My home. This is the first single family, detached home I’ve lived in since my parents’ home, and I am so utterly grateful for it. I am truly happy in this home. It suits our needs, and it allows me so many joys I never could experience in an apartment. I am deeply grateful to have a roof over my head, but even more so to have that roof be exactly what I dreamed of.

8. The staff of Storm Moon Press. It took a lot for me to realize I needed help, and when I did, I was so very lucky to have the support staff I needed so close to me. Amanda, Dionne, Kat, and Cat are the greatest assets SMP has, and I am so very thankful for all their hard, diligent work.

9. Roger’s job. Though it takes him away for vast parts of the day, I am so thankful that he found a job in this economy.

10. My artistic talents. I sometimes take for granted that I was born with a talent for art. Painting, singing, writing, jewelry, cooking, baking, photoshop, etc. If there’s an art form that draws my interest, it doesn’t take much for me to be able to pick it up and excel at it. I have been gifted in that, and I forget it far too easily. I’m so glad I’m an artist, even if it drives me crazy sometimes.

11. For being alive. Every day I wake up. I walk. I talk. I eat. I breathe. I laugh. I cry. I do thousands of little things some people simply cannot. I am alive. I am in relatively controlled health. I am 95% happy most of the time. I have awesome friends, a great support system, and I am alive. For that, I am thankful every day I wake up.

Bonus Thankfulness: Annie and Matthew. OMG, meeting them, loving them, has been one of the highlights of the last almost five years. 😀 I know my life wouldn’t quite as full without them.
 

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

