Skip to content

Review: Riding In Cars With Boys: Confessions of a Bad Girl Who Makes Good

March 10, 2014

Riding In Cars With Boys: Confessions of a Bad Girl Who Makes Good
Riding In Cars With Boys: Confessions of a Bad Girl Who Makes Good by Beverly Donofrio
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

I read this book because I was a so-so fan of the film. I wanted to read the actual memoir.

Bev is an self-centered woman who regrets the conception, birth, and life of her son. She only cares about herself, and there were moments where she seemed to glory in her child’s misery. The scene that really stands out to me is when she tells Jason that Ray is gone and she seems to say how they’ll be without money or food over and over until Jason breaks down, scared and unhappy. What sort of mother does that?

Her heavy drug use, her use of men while having a young child in the house, the drinking, everything led me to asking why did no one take her child from her? She was a danger to herself and her son, though she didn’t care. Someone should have. Though I hope that Jason grew up to be a lovely, well-adjusted young man, I can’t help but think he’ll carry scars that will bleed over into his own child rearing.

I read the book quickly, but I was angry throughout most of it. Bev’s behavior, her acidic and unloving thoughts of her child, and her unjustified hatred/resentment of her family just blew me away. Most of what I read, I couldn’t believe anyone would openly admit to, and I felt sorry for Jason. This book immediately went into my ‘resell on Amazon’ pile once I finished it, and I cannot recommend it to anyone. It’s just an awful, self-indulgent vomit session of a selfish, narrow-sighted woman.

View all my reviews

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

