Skip to content

Short Story Push

June 4, 2014

I have to write a short story in seven days. @_@ I am co-authoring it with K. Piet, but it’s a very tight deadline even for us. I started it last night, and I’m 414 words in. I’m going to hit it hard this morning and try to bring it up to 1,500 words before passing it off to K. when she wakes up this afternoon (she works night shifts, so doesn’t get up until 2pm or so). I know we can do it, it just means 1,500 word days for the next few days, minimum.

When K. has the manuscript, I’m going to pet away at Lessons in Cowboy and another short that has to be done by the end of June (called Fever Dream). We’re about 13,500 into that 70K manuscript, but I’m hoping to get it finished by the end of July/early August so it can come out around Yule/Christmas. After that, it’s only Immortal Symphony: Counterpoint and Under the Strawberry Moon. Once those two manuscripts are done and out to the editors, I’ll pick up 52 Weeks again.

This is the first time I’ve been excited to write in about a year. Planning RainbowCon in the latter half of 2013, losing Dorian at the beginning of 2014, and then losing Little Boy right after RainbowCon… it sort of made writing difficult. It’s hard to be creative when stressed and grieving. But, I think I’m back on a roll. I’m keeping my fingers crossed. I don’t want to fall into another block again. I want to write! *laughs* So, it’s back to writing the two shorts for me today before passing them back to K. before she heads off to work this evening.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

