Skip to content

My Family Needs Help

October 10, 2014

My parents and brother are in a very bad place, and I’m trying to help however I can.

My mom’s dog died late last month. Their power was scheduled to be shut off until I paid it on Wednesday (which really hurt me and my partners financially). And now, they’ve been given 30 days to vacate the home they have lived in for the last 19 years as it goes to auction at the end of that time.

My dad has been unemployed for four years after losing his job of 25+ years. He also developed severe diabetes in this time with no health insurance. He’s been in the hospital for it three times now, and twice he almost lost a limb due to infection. As it is, he just finished six weeks of antibiotic infusions through a PIC the hospital put in after they removed a bone in his foot and scraped out the infection. He has also recently begun to tremble uncontrollably, and while he has applied for disability, that could take years.

My brother works very hard but doesn’t make much. Most of his money goes to his medical benefits, and what’s left is eaten up by whatever bills are most urgent. He’s a hard worker, but in this economy, he just can’t catch a break.

My mother is on a pittance of disability due to her multiple sclerosis. She has a host of other medical issues connected to the MS, and her MS is currently untreated due to only being on Medicare. My mother has done without so often, and now she is going to lose her home. She’s overwhelmed and uncertain and hurting, and I just want to help her however I can.

They need help, and right now, I can’t offer any more than I have. If you have anything you can give, wonderful. If not, please signal boost? 30 days isn’t much time, and I just don’t want to see my parents homeless.

You can donate at the GoFundMe page I’ve set up for them, or you can just signal boost the fundraiser. Either would be wonderful. Thank you all so much!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

