Skip to content

A Sad Day: Rest In Peace Kone, Our Lovely Silver Tabby

August 11, 2015
tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso1_540
tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso2_1280 tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso3_1280 tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso4_1280
tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso5_1280 tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso6_1280 tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso7_1280
tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso8_1280 tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso9_1280 tumblr_nswl3xYiYN1ti7pvso10_1280

 
Back in 2001 and 2002, we lived in a podunk trailer with irresponsible roommates that didn’t understand that we were poor and had an intact female cat who already had one litter we’d kept. They would let her out when she’d go in heat because they didn’t want to hear her whining. Right around Roger’s 23rd birthday, S or J let Mama Kitty out, and she proudly returned to us a quieter–and very pregnant–cat. She ballooned up through Thanksgiving and Christmas and, right before our 3rd wedding anniversary, she gave birth to three babies. Murray, a completely black kitten, came first. An hour or so later, our silver tiger boy, Kone, came. Finally, in the wee hours of the morning, our dusky white girl, Kirei, arrived.
 
This is about that second born. My Kone-boy. DoubleStuff. Lardbutt. Fatass. 🙂 My silver tiger who brought big purrs and shrill demands for treats to this family. Tonight, we helped him on his way to the Rainbow Bridge. There, he will reunite with his mother, Mama Kitty, and his half-sister, Koku, who we lost years ago. Dorian is there, his frail body whole once more. Little Boy is also there, and I hope he’s happier now that his body is no longer bringing him pain. And Kone’s big dog brother Dusk will be there, too, as will my mother’s dogs Brandy (who Kone never met) and Gandalf (who Kone spent three years gettin’ to know).
 
Knowing this was coming, that we made this choice to end his pain before it became something a lot worse, doesn’t lessen my grief. It doesn’t lessen the hole in my heart where this precious tub of silver fluff made his home for thirteen years. From the moment he was born, he was my sweetheart, my shadow. He’s my shadow still, but he walks beside me in a plane I cannot see yet. He waits for me. Keep Kone in your thoughts tonight. He’s in a new place, a strange place, and I want him to know how much he is loved, how much he is missed, and how much his parents can’t wait to see him once more.
 
I cherish my life with him. I hoard my memories of him, even the final hours with him last night. They are mine, and I hold them close.
 
“They say memories are golden
well maybe that is true.
I never wanted memories,
I only wanted you.

A million times I needed you,
a million times I cried.
If love alone could have saved you
you never would have died.

In life I loved you dearly,
In death I love you still.
In my heart you hold a place
no one could ever fill.

If tears could build a stairway
and heartache make a lane,
I’d walk the path to heaven
and bring you back again.

Our family chain is broken,
and nothing seems the same.
But as God calls us one by one,
the chain will link again.”

~Vicky Holder
 
Run freely and without pain or frailty, my sweet Koneko-chan. Mummy, Daddy, Kris, Grandma, and Grandpa love you.

Kone
January 14, 2002 – August 11, 2015
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

