Skip to content

Another Sad Day: Rest In Peace Usagi, Our Beloved First Labrador

October 22, 2015

 

Once again, back in that podunk trailer in 2001, Roger and I bought a dog. She was the whitest Labrador I’d ever seen. She was six weeks old and pudgy. She was also so smart. We named her Rabbit of the Moon with the call name Usagi when we registered her with the AKC. Usagi was one of the brightest puppies we’d ever encountered, and she passed her puppy classes with flying colors. By the time she was a year old, we had her in agility.
 
And she loved agility. She was stunning to watch. I wish we could have taken her further in it, but eventually, time and cost became too much. Usagi retired and became a Labrador of leisure. Time just moved too quickly. She was a three year old dog teaching the new upstart Cala the ways of the house once day, and the next I was buying her diapers and shouting at her to be heard. She hung on. Usagi wasn’t sick. She wasn’t dying of cancer or kidney disease or anything like that. Usagi was old. A testament, I want to think, of how much we all loved and cared for her. She lived to be fourteen years and four months old before we said enough was enough. The quality of life was gone, and she deserved better.
 
Usagi loved her walks. She loved to chase her ball. She loved fetch. She adored rawhide. She loved Mommy and Daddy and Grandma and Grandpa and Kris so much, she didn’t want to leave this world. Usagi, when it’s all said and done, was a happy dog who lived a happy life. But it’s over now, and she passed peacefully. No more wetting herself or falling or pain as she tries to stand. No more.
 
Ten years, two months, and twenty days ago, her big brother Dusk left for the Rainbow Bridge. She was lost without him, which was our reason for buying Cala. Now, Usagi is reunited with Duskers. I hope it’s a joyful one. So many tail waggings, chasings, tusslings, and him assuring her that the wait to meet up with Mommy and Daddy again isn’t so bad.
 
For the moment, though, I feel gutted. Heartsore. Usagi is the fifth pet I’ve lost in the last two-and-a-half years, and while I know it was right, it still hurts like hell. My Usa-bear is not here. She will no longer look up at me with her adorable, big Lab eyes full of unconditional love ever again, and that hurts. I just hope she knew–knows–how much she is loved. How much she will always be loved.
 
So this is where we part, My Friend,
And you’ll run on, around the bend.
Gone from sight, but not from mind,
new pleasures there you’ll surely find.

I will go on; I’ll find the strength,
Life measures quality, not its length.
One long embrace before you leave,
Share one last look, before I grieve.

There are others, that much is true,
But they be they, and they aren’t you.
And I, fair, impartial, or so I thought,
Will remember well all you’ve taught.

Your place I’ll hold, you will be missed,
The fur I stroked, the nose I kissed.
And as you journey to your final rest,
Take with you this…I loved you best.

~ Jim Willis
 
I love you, Usagi-chan. You were a bright light in my life that has now dimmed, and I cannot wait to see you whole and young once more in the Summerlands when my time finally comes.

Usagi
June 20, 2001 – October 22, 2015
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

