Skip to content

Chronic Illness and Me

February 1, 2017

It’s been rough. I switched my biologic medication about four months ago. I swapped from the infusions of Remicade to self-inject Humira. The Remicade wasn’t helping at all.

Humira is helping a lot, but I’ve been in a pain flare for about two weeks now. I took one round of steroids to try and help, but they only masked it for the few days I was on them. I need to call my rheumatologist and ask their opinion on how to deal with this.

I had to be switched from hydrocodone to oxycodone. It was a bit of a frightening switch for me as oxy is stronger, but I’ve been doing well on it.

I haven’t been writing much to Heart of the Wild. I just haven’t been in a mental place to do that… or any writing, really. I want to, but I just haven’t had the oomph the last couple of months. Lots of stress in my life from my father passing to my husband’s girlfriend moving in with us. It’s just been adjustment after adjustment.

I’m crossing my fingers that I’ll be able to jump back into the writing. Writing has always brought me so much joy. I just want to find that happy place again. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Categories

  • Nuts & Bolts

